Collection Stored Off-Site

All or portions of this collection are housed off-site. Materials can still be requested but researchers should expect a delay of up to two business days for retrieval.

Series 1
Writings by Blanco, 1988-2017
Boxes 1 - 15 and 41

Scope and Content Note

The series consists of the writings of Richard Blanco from 1988-2017 and includes Blanco's collected poetry, occasional and commissioned poetry, uncollected and unpublished poetry, published and unpublished prose, and notebooks. The series contains drafts of works, collection manuscripts, proofs, research, publishing contracts, correspondence, editor comments, and printed material relating to Blanco's writing. Collected poetry consists of published collected works by Blanco and contains his first published poetry collection, City of a Hundred Fires, which won the Agnes Lynch Starrett Poetry Prize from the University of Pittsburgh Press in 1997. Occasional and commissioned poetry documents poetry written by Blanco for special occasions or in response to national tragedies, in particular "One Today," the poem that Blanco wrote for the 57th Presidential Inauguration, and "Boston Strong," written in the wake of the Boston Marathon bombing. Uncollected and unpublished poetry contains drafts of poems not included in published collections. Prose primarily consists of essays by Blanco and drafts of his memoir, The Prince of Los Cocuyos: A Miami Childhood (2014), which received the Lambda Literary Award for Gay Memoir in 2015. Notebooks include journal entries, poem drafts, and notes.

Essays, poems, and other writings from Blanco's graduate studies are part of Series 2: Personal papers.

Arrangement Note

Organized into five subseries: (1.1) Collected poetry, (1.2) Occasional and commissioned poetry, (1.3) Uncollected and unpublished poetry, (1.4) Prose, and (1.5) Notebooks.

Description of Subseries