Special collections reading rooms are currently open to Emory University students, faculty, and staff by appointment. Non-Emory-affiliated researcher access may be limited until January 31, 2022 in some repositories.

For assistance, please contact us at rose.library@emory.edu or 404-727-6887.

Collection Stored Off-Site

All or portions of this collection are housed off-site. Materials can still be requested but researchers should expect a delay of up to two business days for retrieval.

Series 2
Writings by Brown, 1989-2010
Boxes 3 - 15, 42 and OP 1

Scope and Content Note

The series consists of writings by Brown from 1989-2010 and includes drafts of her books The Condemnation of Little B. and A Taste of Power, as well as other writings, such as articles, essays, and reviews. Both subseries documenting each book contain drafts, notes, research files, outlines, correspondence, and legal records. The subseries for The Condemnation of Little B. contains a significant amount of material documenting the murder trial of Michael "Little B." Lewis, who was tried as an adult and convicted of murder at the age of thirteen.

Arrangement Note

Organized into three subseries: (2.1) The Condemnation of Little B., (2.2) A Taste of Power, and (2.3) Other writings.

Restrictions on Access

Special restrictions apply: Subseries 2.1 Michael Lewis' medical records are closed until his death.

Description of Subseries