Series 1

Scope and Content Note

The Confederate series consists of both contemporary and non-contemporary materials relating to the American Civil War. The contemporary materials consist primarily of soldiers' letters; letters and papers of Confederate leaders, both civilian and military; documents including autographs, audits, instructions, orders, reports, manifests, petitions, passes, rosters and muster rolls, commissions, announcements, accounts, vouchers; and papers written by civilians and other persons.

Series 2 contains non-contemporary materials which relate to the Civil War, but were created after the war. These include materials created by or about former Confederate (military or civilian), materials relating to the United Confederate Veterans affairs, or about or pertaining to the Confederacy, written after the Civil War.

The collection also contains memorabilia, Confederate issued currency and stocks and bonds, and photographs.

Arrangement Note

Organized into five series: (1.1) Civil War-era documents, (1.2) Post-Civil War-era documents, (1.3) Memorabilia, (1.4) Currency and stocks and bonds, and (1.5) Photographs.

Additional Physical Form

The Robert F. Davis diaries in Subseries 1.1 are also available on microfilm.

Description of Subseries