Subseries 1.1
Writings, 1975-2005
Boxes 1 - 15, AV1

Scope and Content Note

This subseries contains writings and associated research files of James Hatch from 1975-2005. The series includes typescript drafts, audio interviews, research files, and publishing files. A large portion of this series concerns Hatch's biography of Owen Dodson, Sorrow Is the Only Faithful One. Other material concerns Hatch's writings on African American theater including Black Playwrights, 1823-1977: An Annotated Bibliography of Plays and A History of African American Theater as well as Hatch's poetry and short stories. There are also two folders that include writings by other authors.

Arrangement Note

Organized into two subseries: (1.1) Sorrow Is the Only Faithful One and (1.2) Other writings.

Description of Subseries