Series 6
Printed material, 1955-1999
Boxes 172-176; OP11-18

Scope and Content Note

Published material that has been collected by Hughes is represented in this printed material series, which contains texts by Hughes, texts about Hughes' work, and texts by others about various issues of interest to Hughes. In most cases, descriptions of individually listed items note the date and source of publication.

Published works by Hughes are collected under one subseries arranged chronologically by publication date. Printed material about Hughes is gathered in a distinct subseries that is further divided into three subsections: articles, clippings, promotional material for his work, including documents relating to readings. The third subseries contains reviews about Hughes books including poetry, plays, and audio productions.

The final subseries consists of two scrapbooks. The first scrapbook contains clippings of Ted Hughes' poems and other writings, reviews of his work, and some letters from 1956-1963. The second scrapbook contains clippings of Hughes's and Sylvia Plath's poems and other writings, reviews of their works, and other press notices from 1963-1968.

Arrangement Note

Organized into four subseries: (6.1) Writings by Ted Hughes, (6.2) Writings about Ted Hughes, (6.3) Reviews, and (6.4) Scrapbooks.

Restrictions on Access

Special restrictions apply: Due to the fragile nature of the Blue scrapbook, 1956-1963 (OP103) in Subseries 6.4, researchers are required to use the photocopy of the original.

Description of Subseries