Collection Stored Off-Site

All or portions of this collection are housed off-site. Materials can still be requested but researchers should expect a delay of up to two business days for retrieval.

Subseries 2.2
Poems, 1986-1999
Boxes 11-13

Scope and Content Note

The subseries includes manuscript and typescript drafts of McBreen's collected and uncollected poetry from 1986-1999. Of note to researchers is the thematic unity that runs throughout the entirety of the poetry subseries, centering on feelings of loss and renewal, familial memories and celebrations, local phenomena and politics, and the particularities of the Irish landscape. The collected poetry is arranged in chronological order by work, including McBreen's The Wind Beyond the Wall (1990), A Walled Garden in Moylough (1995), and Winter in the Eye: New and Selected Poems (2003). Many of the poems in this subseries have multiple drafts, providing researchers' insight into McBreen's meticulous process of writing and rewriting/revising her poetry in order to craft a final version.

This subseries also contains a considerable number of McBreen's uncollected poems, which were composed in large part during the seven year gap (1996-2002) between the publication of the poet's A Walled Garden in Moylough and Winter in the Eye. Some uncollected poems, however, were composed in the late 1980s and early 1990. Although McBreen offers no explicit rationale for how poems were selected for various collections, it remains clear that the poet subjected her uncollected poetry to equally rigorous revision processes, as many folders in this subseries contain uncollected poems that were written and revised multiple times. The uncollected poems are written in both manuscript and typescript forms, and are arranged here in alphabetical order.

Arrangement Note

Organized into two sections: (2.2a) Collected poems and (2.2b) Uncollected poems.

Description of Subseries