Series 2
Office of the President records, 1958-2003
Boxes 8 - 167 and 918; OP1, OP13; and XOP1

Scope and Content Note

The series consists of the records of the first four presidents of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference: Martin Luther King, Jr. (1957-1968), Ralph David Abernathy (1968-1977), Joseph E. Lowery (1977-1997) and Martin Luther King, III (1997-2004). Materials include administrative files documenting the management of SCLC; subject files that reflect the presidents' work with other organizations and outside interests; and writings, including speeches, statements and articles. The bulk of the series relates to the presidencies of Abernathy and Lowery, including correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agendas, and planning files relating to the organization's major programmatic activity during the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s. Also included is a subseries of reports that consolidates into a central location all reports written by each president.

Arrangement Note

Organized into five subseries: (2.1) President Martin Luther King, Jr. files, (2.2) President Ralph David Abernathy files, (2.3) President Joseph E. Lowery files, (2.4) President Martin Luther King, III files, and (2.5) President's reports.

Restrictions on Access

Special restrictions apply: Subseries 2.4: President Martin Luther King, III files. Legal records relating to court cases are closed for 25 years from the date of their creation, with the exception of briefs and motions filed with the court.

Description of Subseries