Series 6
Department of Communications records, 1960-2005
Boxes 323 - 381; OP13; XOP4

Historical Note

The Department of Communications, previously known as the Office of Information and the Department of Public Relations, controlled the release of information to the media through press releases and oversaw the publication of various periodicals.

Scope and Content Note

The series consists of the records of the Department of Communications from 1960-2005. The series includes correspondence; office files, including the majority of the administrative files of the department such as reports, memoranda and planning files; materials relating to publications, including Soul Force and SCLC Magazine; and press releases. The series documents the activities of the Communications Directors, including: Junius Griffin (1966); Tom Offenburger (circa 1967-1971); Tyrone Brooks (1974-?); Carole Parks (1978-1979); Rick Dunn (1979-1980); Pat Roberts (1980); Evelyn Newman (1980-1982); Tommy Calimee (1982); Rhonda Copenny-Moss (1982-1984); Quentin Bradford (1984-1986); Marti Chitwood (1986-1987); Darryl Gray (circa 1989); Mike Dejoie (1992-1994); Deric Gilliard (1994-1997); David Stokes (late 1990s); and Sheriee Bowman (circa 2002). The bulk of the series relates to the tenures of Tom Offenburger, Mike Dejoie, and Deric Gilliard. The series also includes the records of Keith Silver, Kim Miller, and Sonja Roberts, staff members who worked for the department.

Arrangement Note

Organized into four subseries: (6.1) Department of Communications correspondence, (6.2) Department of Communications office files, (6.3) Publications, and (6.4) Press releases.

Description of Subseries